Ch.8 Road Trip Pt. 1

It’s been about  five days since the day Kristan and I said “I do” and we were on our way to our two-week long honeymoon. But Kristan and I thought about it and decided against the typical tropical honeymoon on the beach that most newly weds would go on. We wanted an adventure. A road trip; to be exact.

“Do you have everything you need?” My mom asked again for the hundredth time.

I sighed. “Yes, Mom. Don’t worry about it, I have everything.”

She didn’t believe me. “Are you sure? Do you have your passports?”

“Mom, we don’t need our passports, we’re not going out of the country.”

My mom looked at expectantly.

“Ugh, yes. We have them.”

“Good. And Kristan?”

“Yes?”

“Take care of my boy.”

Kristan smiled and I just rolled my eyes. “Of course, Piper.”

Ever since Kristan and Mom met they have been best of friends, which was great and all, but sometimes it could get really annoying. “Well, Mom, we should get going; Starlight Shores is a 5 day drive, we can’t waste anymore time.” I loaded the last suitcase into the back of  our car.

“Alright, alright. Have fun! Not too much fun, if you know what I mean.”

“Ugh, Mom. We’re going now! Bye!”

We said our last goodbyes and hopped into the car. Kristan smiled at me as I started the car.

“Ready?” I asked.

“Ready.” She said.

And we were on our way.

________________

About two days into our trip, our car started slowing down and I knew it wouldn’t make it to the nearest gas station so I drove over to the side of the road. One glance out of our window proved that we were in the middle of nowhere and we had no way to get help.

“Jackson, what’ going on?” Kristan asked.

“I don’t know, something’s wrong with the car.” I opened the car door and got out to inspect the engine.

After a few minutes of looking at the engine of the car proved that I knew nothing about cars.

“Sooo, what’s wrong with the car?” Kristan asked again.

“Honestly, I have no idea. I think we’re gonna have to walk to the nearest town for some help.”

“Now what are we going to do?!”

“I guess we’ll have to walk to the nearest town and find a gas station.” I suggested.

“That’s just great! Just wonderful!”

“It won’t be that bad. We passed a little town on the way here so I guess we just have to walk back there.”

I turned on the car signals and locked the car doors. Kristan just  sighed and  I smiled at her shyly and nodded towards the little town we could see in the distance. And so we began walking to the nearest town.

Eventually we came across this  little cafe, we didn’t see any gas stations or car repair shops nearby so went inside the cafe to get some directions. The cafe was small and clutter littered the front side of the cafe. It seemed to be empty except for a blonde women mending counter.

“Well, hellllooo there, sugar.” The blonde women drawled, she had a heavy south-western accent.

 “Hello, I need some help.”

“Suuure thing, sugar. What’s the problem?”

“My car just stopped in the middle of nowhere and I need someone to come over and fix it-” I explained.

“Oh no! You poor thing!” The women cried.

“Yeah, I guess so, but do you know where I can find the nearest gas station?”

“Oh that’s almost a 1 hour drive from here!”

I huffed. “Great. Just great.”

“How about I get you a drink on the house, you must be quite thirsty. And call me Betsy.” Besty winked.

“Oh thank you so much! Me and my wife would love that!” I smiled.

Wife?”

“Yes, I came here with my wife, Kristan. We were on a road trip going to Starlight Shores. It’s our honeymoon, you see.”

“Oh.”

I smiled. “So how about those drinks?”

“I think it’s time for you and your wife to go.”

My smiled faded. “What do you mean?”

Betsey placed the bottle she was holding onto the counter. “We were about to close anyways, so I think you should get going.”

“B-but-”

“I’m sorry, here I’ll show you two the door.”

Kristan came over from the table she sitting at to see what all the fuss was about.

“Oh, hello.” Betsey said as soon as she saw Kristan.

“Hi. What’s going on, Jackson?”

“We have to go.” I said.

“Yes, you do.” Betsey said and pushed us out the door.

“What was that about?” Kristan asked, surprised at Betsey’s level of rudeness.

I shrugged my shoulders.

“I don’t know, weird town I guess. But she told me that the nearest gas station is a 1 hour drive away.”

“What!? Now what are we gonna do?”

“How about we keep walking and find someone who can help.”

A few blocks over we find a motel, it looked open so Kristan and I walked in. At the front desk was a plump lady typing away at the computer. I cleared my throat to get her attention.

“Oh! Hello there! Sorry I didn’t see you.”

“It’s okay. But our car failed on us and we are looking for some help.”

“Oh my! I’m sorry but the nearest-”

“Yeah, I know it’s 1 hour away, but is there any way we can get some help?”

The lady at the desk thought about it for a moment. “Well I can call over a car repair man to come and fix your car.”

I smiled. “Oh that would be great!”

“But I’m afraid that he isn’t working at this time and it is getting late. Would you like to stay the night? I can offer you two a room for the night, for free of course.”

I sighed with relief; finally someone nice enough to help.

“That would be perfect . . ” Kristan chimed in.

“My name is Debbie.”

“Thank you, Debbie. I’m Jackson and this is my wife Kristan”

She smiled. “Nice to meet you. Here I will show you guys to your room.”

We followed her out of the main lobby to our room.

“Feel free to take a swim in the pool or just stay here in your room. Is this okay?”

We stopped to examine our room and then our eyes laid on the window.

Kristan and I gasped; we had a breathtaking view of the desert. It was beautiful.

“It’s lovely, Debbie! Thank you so much!”

“It’s no problem at all, Kristan. Enjoy your room and I will call you in the morning when the repairman arrives.”

“That’s great! Thank you, again.”

“Haha. Well I should get going! See you two in the morning. Oh and the walls are sound proof.” Debbie winked and left without another word.

I went over to lay out on the bed.

“Are you thinking what I’m thinking?” I asked Kristan.

Kristan smiled knowingly and closed the blindfolds to cover the window.

“I’m thinking exactly what you’re thinking.”

 

*  *  *

~ by Dana on August 5, 2012.

7 Responses to “Ch.8 Road Trip Pt. 1”

  1. Cute chapter! and lol Betsy was…odd. Pretty! but odd. haha. And I LOVE Kristan’s hair! Where’d you get it? 😀

    • Thank you! I wanted Betsy to look . . fake. You know, her hair died blonde and plastic nose surgery. LOL. Oh and I have no idea where i got Kristan’s hair, sorry.

      • Aha it’s alright. I looked back and yeah I can see the “fake-ness” in Betsy & her nose lol. I like her hair too though. xD You make such great sims! ^.^

  2. I read this chappie a whiiile ago, but didn’t have time to comment since I was at camp. It’s so sweet xD. Jealous people…story of my life. LIke…people always treat you differently once they realize you’re not single. Blah.

    • Hehe, this is prob one of my favorite chapters to write and take pictures for. :3

      • Is that Strangetown? because I downloaded and it kinda looks like that…
        but, I understand why it would be one of your favorite chappies. So many varied and colorful settings and characters. Plus Kristen is just so very beautiful.

  3. It’s Lucky Palms acutally. But thank you Ouchie! :3

Leave a comment