Ch.6 Anniversary

It has been three years since I graduated highschool. Kristan and me ended up getting accepted to the same college; Riverview University. Nina is still in highschool and is finishing up senior year. From what Mom told me over the phone; Nina has a summer job working with horses over at Appaloosa’s Equestrian Center.

It’s finally summer break again and we came back to Appaloosa Plains to visit our family and spend our free time together. Kristan and I are better than ever and I’ve been planning our 4 year anniversary for a while now, it was going to be perfect. And I need Nina’s help.

 

I haven’t seen Nina since I left for college and Mom hadn’t told her that I was visiting over the summer.

“Nina!” I call as soon as I spot her bright blonde hair. Wow, has she grown.

Nina’s eye’s widened at the sight of me. “Jackson! What-what are you doing here? I thought-what the?!” She exclaims.

“Haha, nice to see you too, sis.”

Nina rolls her eyes. “I’ve missed you and all, but shouldn’t you be in Riverview?”

“It’s summer break and Kristan and I decided to come back here for the summer.”

“That’s awesome! I’ve missed you so much, big bro.”

“How is Ruffus doing? You been taking care of him for me?” I ask.

“He’s great, he really misses you though. Where are you staying?”

“This hotel in town, but Kristan and I will be moving in with you guys.”

“What are you doing standing there, come on in!” Nina motions for me to climb over the white fence that separated us.

“So what’s the real reason you came to see me here?” Nina asks suspiciously.

“To see you, what else?”

“You’re not fooling me Jackson, I know you could have seen me when I got home from work. There is something you want from me, isn’t there?”

I sigh. “Okay, there is.”

Nina raises her eyebrow.

“I need to borrow a horse.”

“A horse? Why?”

“Kristan and I’s 4 year anniversary is coming up and I want to do something special for her.”

“Hmm . . I don’t know Jackson. I could get in big trouble with my boss.”

“Please, sis, please! This is very important to me.”

“Humph, fine. But you have to bring the horse back by the end of the day!”

“Thank you, Nina! You’re the best!”

“You better believe I am. In fact, you can use Prairie for your date with Kristan.” She smiles and nods at the white-coated horse standing beside Nina. “She’s very friendly and doesn’t mind strangers.”

“She’s perfect!”

“Thanks again, sis.”

“No problem, bro. You owe me one.” She holds out her arms for a hug.

I smile and pull her in. “I know I do.”

_________________

“Okay, we’re almost there. Just a feeew more steps.” I urge Kristan as I lead her to my secret set-up for our 4 year anniversary date.

Kristan sighs. “This better be good, Jackson. First you blindfold me and drive me somewhere for like, 100 miles then we get out of the car unexpectedly and walk for another 100 miles. Where the hell are you taking me?”

I smirk mischievously, not letting myself reveal anything.

“Okay, you can stop now.” I slow down and lower my hands off of her face.

She doesn’t say anything.

After a few seconds she still doesn’t say anything, I laugh nervously. “Is there something wrong? I was hoping you would like this and I-”

I stop suddenly when I felt the soft pressure of her lips on mine. She pulls away and smiles.

“I love it, Jackson. It-it’s the nicest thing anyone has ever done for me.”

I let out a sigh of relief. “You deserve the best, Kristan. Now let’s eat, you must be hungry from all that driving.”

This is what I love about Kristan:

1. She’s the smartest and the most beautiful girl in the whole world.

2. She’s not afraid to speak her mind.

3. And she can pig out on food, not caring what she looks like or who is looking.

Kristan interrupts my train of thoughts. “Why are you looking at me like that?”

I smile. “Because I love you.”

She smiles back. “I love you too.”

“Ready for the next part?”

Her smile lowers and she furrows her eyebrows. “What’s the next part?”

I laugh. “The horse, silly! What, do you think she is just for decoration? We’re going to her.”

Her eyes widen with excitement.

“Okay, ready? One, two . . three!”

Kristan squeaks as I lift her up on to the horse.

“You okay?”

She nods and flashes a thumbs up.

“I’m going let go of you now, can you get on the rest of the way?”

She nods again. “Yup, I’m good.”

I let go off her and watch her get on with a big smile on my face.

I feel Kristan’s arms wrap around my waist as soon as I got on. I look back at her to see Kristan smiling warmly at me. “You spoil me Jackson.”

I laugh. “I know. Now let’s go!”

“Where are we going?”

“You’ll see.” I wink and look ahead, enjoying the feeling of being with Kristan, yup, she has that effect on you.

We arrive at the beach as the sky starts to darken. There was a nice breeze that blew on our faces as we rode along the shore of the beach. It was perfect.

“Let’s stop here.”

Kristan nods, happy with anything I suggest.

I jump off Prairie and turn around to help Kristan get off. I tie Prairie’s leash to the boardwalk’s poles. She comes to stand next to me and leans her head against my shoulder. “Thank you, for this.” She says.

“Actually, it’s not over yet.”

Kristan lifts her head to look at me. “What do you mean?”

I turn around to face her fully and I wrap my arms around her waist.

“There’s been something I needed to ask you.”

Kristan stays silent, waiting for me to continue.

Slowly, I unwrap her hands from me and got down on one knee. Kristan looks at me, speechless. I reach into my pocket and fumble with the little ring with my rings for a few seconds and then pull it out.

“Kristan, for a long time I have had a huge crush on you and when I finally admitted to you, I felt happy. No girl I have ever met made me feel like this when I am with you. Kristan, I love you, so will you marry me?”

“I thought you would never ask.” Kristan smiles and nods a yes. She lets me glide the ring onto her finger and waits patiently for me to get up. And then pulls me into a big hug which then turns into a kiss.

~ by Dana on June 26, 2012.

12 Responses to “Ch.6 Anniversary”

  1. um…you spelled anniversary wrong xD

  2. The two of them are so perfect together…like, seriously. They need to be married already 😉

  3. aw dang it! I’ll fix that right now! XO I feel ashamed.
    But thank you! ❤ I love them.

  4. Yup. It’s hard to do ugly-pretty for me 😄
    And I didn’t even make Kristan so she doesn’t count as my creation.

Leave a Reply

 
