Ch.5 How it should be

Tonight, is Prom night. The night every single senior had dreamed of. The night where some say goodbye and some say hello. The night where I tell Kristan how much I love her.

I had left home without picking up Tiffany at her house and took the rented limo to school by myself. Honestly, before I ever met Kristan, I never imagined my Prom night to be like this.

I had always thought that I would go to pick up my imaginary Prom date at her home – she would smile when she opened the door for me and I would kiss her on the cheek.  I would be bombarded with questions from her father and then have our pictures taken by her mother. We would take the limo together to Prom and have fun.

But it didn’t turn out like that – not even close.

I walked into the gymnasium that had been transformed into the venue for the Prom. The walls were covered with stars and posters. Lasers moved everywhere giving the place an energetic feeling. I find my friends at the dance floor having fun smiling and laughing. I scanned the area for Kirsten – where is she?

“JACKSON! Where were you!?! I waited for you to pick me up, but you didn’t show up! You better have a good explanation for this!” Tiffany yelled at me from the dance floor when she spotted me. She stalked over to me. “I had to get a ride with Emily and her annoying date.”

I scowled at Tiffany. I don’t think I will ever forgive for what she had done to Kristan. How could she be that low? How could I be that ignorant?

She was dressed in a long pink-red gown with a low-cut top, it was embroidered with jewels and there was slit at the bottom revealing her legs. I rolled my eyes in disgust, how could I not realize what a slut she is?

“What was that eye-roll for, Jackson? Explain yourself!” She demanded once more.

“I know you threatened Kristan so she would stay away from me.”

Her mouth opened in shock but she quickly recovered. “So? She’s not good enough for you anyway. She’s ugly and why would you like her when you can have me anyways?”

“No, Tiffany, YOU are not good enough for me. You are a liar and a bitch – you are the one who is ugly. And Kristan is beautiful and smart.”

Tiffany looked down and her bottom lip started to quiver. “B-But how could say that Jackson? I-I thought you liked me?”

“Not anymore, Tiffany. We could’ve been friends, but you ruined it all.”

“Come on, Jackson – it was mistake. I’m sorry, at least you can still be my date?”

“No, Tiffany, no. I’m done with you.”

“Humph, fine then. Don’t come crawling back to me if Kristan rejects you.” Kristan snarled and stalks back into the dance floor.

I sighed, now all I had to do was find Kristan.

“Wow, Jackson.” Said a heavenly voice  to me from behind.

I turned out slowly and my mouth hung open in wonder. “Kristan?”

She was gorgeous like an angel. Her red hair was curled and hung down loosely from her head. Her emerald-green eyes shined and her turquoise dress fit her very well.

She nodded.

“I heard about what Tiffany did to you! I’m so sorry Kristan, I never meant this to happen-”

“You don’t have to apologize, it wasn’t your fault. And I heard what you said to her.”

“How much?”

She smiled. “The ‘Kristan is beautiful and smart’ part.”

I blushed.

“Is it true?” She asked.

“Every word.”

The upbeat music in the background changed in to a slow song. I reached for her hand. “Would you like to dance?”

“You don’t even have to ask.”

I pulled her over to the dance floor and hugged her close to me. We swayed across the floor – oblivious to the other dancers around us.

I whispered into Kristan’s ear. “I really like you, Kristan.”

For one minute the whole world stopped and then she replied.

“I really like you, too.”

Those five words were all I needed to close that small space between us and kiss her. And it was magical – I felt like the weight of the world was lifted off my shoulders and I let myself go.

For the rest of the night, Kristan and I spent it locked in eachother’s arms. Only taking breaks to get a drink and you-know-what.

It turned out that Emily’s ‘annoying date’ was Robert. And without Tiffany, Emily was actually a very nice and pretty girl. I felt happy for them.

And to Tiffany’s utter surprise; Kristan and I won Prom Queen and King. So, in the end, the night wasn’t a total disaster and it was much much better than what I imagined it to be.

~ by Dana on April 21, 2012.

3 Responses to “Ch.5 How it should be”

  1. awww yay! That’s awesome! Great chapter! 😀

Leave a Reply

 
