Ch.12 Shock

As soon as Jacob was out of sight, I hail a taxi, and head home.

I arrive home and greeted Noelle as she came out of her room.

“Hi Mommy.”

“Hi sweetie. Where is Reese?”

“In our room.”

“Look, Noelle. I know your birthday is close by, but so is Reese’s, Liam’s, and Spencer’s. When it’s your birthday, we’ll see what I can do about having your own room.”

*sigh* “Alright.”

After checking in on Reese, I go out to the backyard. It was kinda empty, except for the trees and trampoline. I prop myself up against a tree, and gaze at the sunset.

After a while, Noelle comes to join me.

“What’s wrong?” I asked.

“Nothing, I was just bored, so I came out here.”

“Mom?”

“Yea.”

“How come I don’t look anything like you?”

“. . .”

This was the moment that I dreaded. I was hoping that I could’ve hold it of untill she was at least 16. But I guess I had to to tell her sooner or later.

“Umm, well. You don’t look anything like me because I adopted you . . .”

“Oh.”

“And I also I adopted your brothers and sister.”

“So, you’re not my mom?”

“Oh Noelle, don’t look at it like that! I raised you since you were a tiny little baby. You’re biological parents, probably didn’t care for you at all. But I do. That’s what a mother is.”

“But . . . why?”

“I . . . don’t know. Let’s leave it at that. I might tell you when you’re older or not.”

“. . . ”

“It’s getting late, we should go inside now.”

“OK.”

. . . .

At about 2:00 o’clock a.m., I woke up.

For some reason, I felt like something was going to happen. Something that I should be awake for.

I go into my studio and continued my sketch.

About half-way into my drawing, my phone rang, – I was quite surprised that someone would be calling me so early in the morning –  I go to grab it of the living room table.

“Hello?”

“. . .”

 “Umm, Hello?”

“. . .”

I hung up and checked the Caller I.D., it read ‘Unknown’. This was freaky, freaky as in horror movie freaky.

I wasn’t ready to go back to bed, especially after that phone call, so I turn on the television, and sit down on the couch.

“OH-MY-GOD!!”

“Wait! Shhh. I’m not going to hurt you! Please be quiet!”

“I think . . . I’m going to -”

“Uh oh. Roxy, are you okay? Wake up! Please.”

 “I’m alright, I think.”

When my senses came back to me, I was furious.

“What! HOW?! WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE!? DO YOU KNOW THAT IT IS ILIGAL TO BREAK AND ENTER??!! YOU’RE LUCKY I’M NOT CALLING THE POLICE RIGHT THIS SECOND!!”

“ACTUALLY! I AM GOING TO CALL THE POLICE RIGHT THIS SECOND!!”

“Wait, Roxy, please! Be quiet for at least one minute so I can explain myself!”

“AND WHY IN THE WORLD SHOULD I DO THAT??”

“Well for one, you are going to wake up your kids, and second of all, I have something important to inform you.”

He was right, I closed my eyes and tried to clam my self down.

 But when I opened my eyes, I think I was far from clam. The tips of our noses were barely touching. I coul feel his heat and his breath on me. I was in shock.

“Roxy . . .” he breathed, “please.”

~ by Dana on February 28, 2011.

4 Responses to “Ch.12 Shock”

  1. […] Chapter 12 […]

  2. That was close, the screenshot that just showed the arms coming after her was scary.

  3. This was amazing! I smell romance in the air!

Leave a Reply

 
